Music in Durham

Pictures at an Exhibition

Chamber Orchestra, programme to include
Cecilia McDowall Rain, Steam and Speed
Felix Mendelssohn Overture ‘The Hebrides’
Maurice Ravel Pavane for a Dead Princess

Symphony Orchestra
Aldemaro Romero Fuga Con Pajarillo
Modest Mussorgsky (arr. Ravel) Pictures at an Exhibition

Conducted by Jude Holloway and Michael Kohn

Cecilia McDowall’s Rain, Steam and Speed is based on Joseph M.W. Turner’s painting of a steam train and McDowall’s composition initially aims to convey a feel of wide, pastoral spaces before the incessant rhythmic motif representing the train enters from the horizon. The DUPO chamber orchestra also perform Maurice Ravel’s Pavane – a picture of a historical dance.

The symphony orchestra play Pictures at an Exhibition, originally composed for piano by Mussorgsky and transformed for full symphony orchestra by Ravel. The piece is a stroll through an art gallery displaying paintings by the architect and painter Viktor Hartmann. The Promenade theme that opens the work links the paintings, ending with the magnificent finale ‘The Great Gate at Kiev’.

Running time: approx. 2 hours (including interval). Ticket holders can also get 10% off all food at The Capital Indian Restaurant on the night of the concert.

Tickets £16 (£10 concession) plus booking fee, available from Gala Theatre


06 June


7:30 pm




Get tickets


Gala Theatre
Gala Theatre
Millennium Place, Durham, DH1 1WA


Durham University Palatinate Orchestra
Durham University Palatinate Orchestra